Twenty-four hours and a few minutes remain to file for elective positions for towns, the City of Casper, Natrona County, the Legislature, and the top five statewide elected offices.

After an initial burst of interest, filings were slow.

For example, incumbent Republican U.S. Senator John Barrasso was the only candidate to file on Wednesday, according to the daily update from the Natrona County Clerk's Office.

But there was a minor flurry of new candidates on Thursday including a couple of Democratic candidates for governor.

However, several positions remain blank for nonpartisan Casper City Council seats.

Besides the Natrona County Clerk's Office, the Wyoming Secretary of State's Office updates candidate lists daily.

The filing deadline is 5 p.m. Friday.

These are the offices, candidates and their parties (if applicable) so far:

Federal Contests:

  • U.S. Senator (six-year term) -- John Holtz (R), Anthony L. Van Risseghem (R), Roque "Rocky" De La Fuente (R), Charlie Hardy (R), Gary Trauner (D), John Barrasso (R).
  • U.S. Representative (two-year term) -- Rod Miller (R), Liz Cheney (R), Blake E Stanley (R), Travis Helm (D).


The Five Statewide Contests (four-year terms):

  • Governor -- Bill Dahlin (R), Foster Friess (R), Harriet M. Hageman (R), Kenneth R. Casner (D), Sam E. Galeotos (R), Mark Gordon (R), Taylor Haynes (R), Mary Throne (D), Rex Wilde (D).
  • Secretary of State -- James W. Byrd (D), Edward Buchanan (R).
  • State Auditor -- Jeff Dockter (D), Kristi Racines (R), Nathan Winters (R).
  • State Treasurer -- Curt Meier (R), Leland Christensen (R).
  • Superintendent of Public Instruction -- Jillian Balow (R).


State Senate Contests in Natrona County (four-year terms):

  • Senate District 27 -- Bill Landen (R).
  • Senate District 29 -- Drew Perkins (R).


State House of Representative Contests in Natrona County (two-year terms):

  • House District 35 -- Joe Macguire (R).
  • House District 36 -- Debbie Bovee (D), Art Washut (R).
  • House District 37 -- Steve Harshman (R).
  • House District 38 -- Tom Walters (R).
  • House District 56 -- Jerry Obermueller (R), Kris Gaddis (R).
  • House District 57 -- Daniel Sandoval (R), Chuck Gray (R).
  • House District 58 -- Charles H. Schoenwolf (R), Patrick "Pat" Sweeney (R).
  • House District 59 -- Bunky Loucks (R).


Natrona County Contests (four-year terms):

  • Commissioner (three will be elected) -- Paul C. Bertoglio (R), Robert L. Hendry (R), Jim Milne (R), David North (R), Linda R. Shogren-O'Grady (R), Todd Murphy (R), Jerry A. Cook (R).
  • Assessor -- Matthew Keating (R), Tammy Saulsbury (R).
  • Clerk -- Tracy Good (R), Chris Lindsey (R).
  • Clerk of District Court -- Leticia Drake (R), Anne Volin (R).
  • Coroner -- Connie Jacobson (R).
  • Sheriff -- Gus Holbrook (R).
  • Treasurer -- Tom Doyle (R).
  • District Attorney -- Dan Itzen (R).


City of Casper Contests (nonpartisan):

  • City Council Ward I, (four-year term) -- none yet.
  • City Council Ward I, (two-year unexpired term) -- Michael E. Huber.
  • City Council Ward II, (four-year term) -- Mark P. Kawa, Shawn Johnson.
  • City Council Ward II, (two-year unexpired term) -- none yet.
  • City Council Ward III (two four-year terms) -- Steven Freel.


Town of Bar Nunn Contests (nonpartisan, four-year terms):

  • Town Council (two positions) -- Robert W. Hoover.
  • Town Mayor -- Patrick R. Ford.


Town of Evansville Contests (nonpartisan):

  • Town Council (two four-year terms) -- Joseph A Knop, Chad Edwards.
  • Town Council (two-year unexpired term) -- Aaron Vigneault.
  • Town Mayor -- Jennifer Sorenson.


Town of Mills Contests (nonpartisan):

  • Town Council (two four-year terms) -- James Hollander, Darla R. Ives.
  • Town Mayor (four-year term) -- Seth M. Coleman, Mike Pyatt.

More From 107.9 Jack FM