Three years after Peter Gabriel assembled an album of other people's songs, the artists he covered are returning the favor.

Gabriel fans will remember his 'Scratch My Back' collection, which found the erstwhile Genesis frontman adding his distinctive spin to classic tracks originally recorded by Paul Simon, David Byrne, Lou Reed, Randy Newman and others. His initial plan was to release 'Back' in conjunction with a separate LP of those artists covering Gabriel songs, but it didn't come together in time, and remained in limbo -- until now.

'And I'll Scratch Yours,' due Sept. 23 on Gabriel's Real World label, rounds up an intriguing combination of songs and performers, with most of the artists Gabriel covered on 'Scratch My Back' contributing new recordings. According to an announcement posted at Gabriel's website, "Peter is delighted with how many artists signed up for the project and bearing in mind the caliber and careers of those artists whose songs he selected, it's rather incredible that all but two songwriters were able to reciprocate."

Two versions of the album are currently available for pre-order at Gabriel's site and via major online retailers. One features 'And I'll Scratch Yours' as a standalone LP, and the other packages it with 'Scratch My Back.' Have a look at the complete 'And I'll Scratch Yours' track listing below.

'And I'll Scratch Yours' Track List
David Byrne, 'I Don't Remember'
Bon Iver, 'Come Talk to Me'
Regina Spektor, 'Blood of Eden'
Stephin Merritt, 'Not One of Us'
Joseph Arthur, 'Shock the Monkey'
Randy Newman, 'Big Time'
Arcade Fire, 'Games Without Frontiers'
Elbow, 'Mercy Street'
Brian Eno, 'Mother of Violence'
Feist, 'Don't Give Up'
Lou Reed, 'Solsbury Hill'
Paul Simon, 'Biko'

More From 107.9 Jack FM