A 16-person committee selected to help find the University of Wyoming's next president will include former Wyoming Governor Matt Mead and former State Auditor Rita Meyer.

The committee will be charged with forwarding a list of 12 qualified candidates to the University of Wyoming Board of Trustees, according to an announcement from UW Wednesday.

Former board chairman John MacPherson will head the committee.

Other members include:

  • Megan Degenfelder, former Associated Students of University of Wyoming President (2011-12)
  • Doug Stark, UW College of Agriculture alumnus, recently retired Farm Credit Services of America CEO
  • Jeff Marsh, UW Board of Trustees Vice Chairman
  • Macey Moore
  • Laura Schmid-Pizzato
  • ASUW President Jason Wilkins
  • Ken Chestek
  • Staff Senate President James Wheeler
  • 2018 - 2019 ASUW President Alex Mulhall
  • Professor Alyson Hagy
  • Associate Professor Matthew Painter
  • Laura Shevling

Trustees intend to hire a consulting firm to assist in the search process. An independent search recruiter will be used to facilitate contact with nontraditional candidates.

Theobald is not prohibited from applying for the position.

In addition to the committee's 12 candidates, trustees can also add candidates to the shortlist unless they were specifically rejected by the committee.

"I appreciate the willingness of these outstanding individuals to contribute to the selection of our next university president," Board of Trustees Chairman Dave True said in the statement. "Their work will be essential for us to conduct a successful search and select our next university president."

More From 107.9 Jack FM