The running of the 142nd Kentucky Derby is Saturday from Churchill Downs, in Louisville, Kentucky.

We're quite a few miles from Louisville, Kentucky, however if you love the ponies and want to feel the excitement, stop by the Beacon Club for their Kentucky Derby shindig.

The Casper Horse Palace welcomes everyone out for Mint Juleps, a Derby Hat contest and more. The Kentucky Oaks will run Friday, May 6th at 3:45pm. The Kentucky Derby has an approximate post time of 6:34 ET and 4:34 MT. The race will broadcast on NBC.

Here's a look back at last years Derby and some things that may interest you before Saturday's 142nd Run for the Roses.

American Pharaoh ended a 36 year drought by winning the Triple Crown. Affirmed had been the last horse to accomplish the feat in 1978.

Nyquist will bring an undefeated record into this years 'Run for the Rose's'. There have only been seven other horses to win the Derby with an undefeated record.

Keep an eye on Victor Espinoza riding Whitmore who can become the first jockey to win the Derby in the consecutive years.

Something else to watch: Mor Spirit will break from post 17...No horse has ever won the Kentucky Derby from this position.

Here's a look at The Field

No. Horse              Trainer           Jockey          ML Odds
1. Trojan Nation       P. Gallagher      A. Gryder        50-1
2. Suddenbreakingnews  D. Von Hemel      L. Quinonez      20-1
3. Creator             S. Asmussen       R. Santana Jr.   10-1
4. Mo Tom              T. Amoss          C. Lanerie       20-1
5. Gun Runner          S. Asmussen       F. Geroux        10-1
6. My Man Sam          C. Brown          I. Ortiz Jr.     20-1
7. Oscar Nominated     M. Maker          J. Leparoux      50-1
8. Lani                M. Matsunaga      Y. Take          30-1
9. Destin              T. Pletcher       J. Castellano    15-1
10. Whitmore           R. Moquett        V. Espinoza      20-1
11. Exaggerator        Kei. Desormeaux   K. Desormeaux     8-1
12. Tom's Ready        D. Stewart        B. Hernandez Jr. 30-1
13. Nyquist            D. O'Neill        M. Gutierrez      3-1
14. Mohaymen           K. McLaughlin     J. Alvarado      10-1
15. Outwork            T. Pletcher       J. Velazquez     15-1
16. Shagaf             C. Brown          J. Rosario       20-1
17. Mor Spirit         B. Baffert        G. Stevens       12-1
18. Majesto            G. Delgado        E. Jaramillo     30-1
19. Brody's Cause      D. Romans         L. Saez          12-1
20. Danzig Candy       C. Sise           M. Smith         15-1
AE  Laoban              E. Guillot       C. Velasquez
AE  Cherry Wine        D. Romans             R. Albarado




More From 107.9 Jack FM